New England Council To Present “New Englander Of The Year” Awards At 2010 Annual Dinner

Business Organization To Honor Senator Susan Collins, Author Doris Kearns Goodwin, And Northeast Utilities Chairman Charles Shivery

Boston, MA (October 12, 2010) – The New England Council, the country’s oldest regional business organization, will present its prestigious “New Englander of the Year” awards at its 2010 Annual Dinner at the Seaport Hotel/World Trade Center in Boston on Monday, October 18, 2010.  This year’s recipients are Senator Susan Collins (R-ME), author and historian Doris Kearns Goodwin, and Northeast Utilities Chairman Charles Shivery.  Over 1,000 New England Council members representing businesses large and small across a wide range of industries throughout New England will be in attendance.

The “New Englander of the Year” awards are presented each year by the New England Council and honor residents of the New England states for their commitment and contributions in their fields of work, as well as their leadership and impact on the New England region’s quality of life and economy.  First presented in 1964, over the years the award has been presented to Senators George Mitchell, Ted Kennedy, Jack Reed, Judd Gregg, Christopher Dodd, and John Kerry; Congressmen Richard Neal, Ed Markey, and Barney Frank; and business leaders Red Auerbach of the Boston Celtics, Edward C. Johnson of Fidelity Investments, Jack Welch of General Electric, and many other respected government, business, and non-profit leaders.

“Our 2010 New Englanders of the Year embody all that is great about this region—they are innovative, creative, independent thinkers who are dedicated to their communities and their work,” said James T. Brett, President and CEO of the New England Council.  “Each of them has made countless contributions, not only to the business community, but to the New England region as a whole. We’re thrilled to be celebrating their accomplishments with hundreds of our members at this year’s Annual Dinner.”

The New England Council’s Board of Directors selected this year’s three recipients based on their esteemed careers and countless contributions to the region:

  • The Honorable Susan Collins is currently serving her third term as Maine’s junior senator.  First elected in 1996, she has earned a national reputation as a thoughtful, effective legislator who works across party lines to seek consensus on our nation’s most pressing issues.  Senator Collins is the 15th woman in history to be elected to the Senate in her own right.  She is the ranking member and former Chairman of the Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee, and serves on the Appropriations and Armed Services Committee, as well as the Special Committee on Aging.  Senator Collins has been honored by numerous civic and professional groups, most notably for her work on homeland security following the September 11 attacks.
  • Doris Kearns Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning American biographer and historian.  She is the author of biographies of several U.S. Presidents, including Lyndon Johnson and the American Dream, The Fitzgeralds and the Kennedys: An American Saga, and No Ordinary Time: Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt, for which she won the Pulitzer Prize for History in 1995.  Her most recent book, Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln, spent weeks at the top of the New York Times Bestseller List.  In addition to her writing, Kearns Goodwin has also taught a course on the American Presidency at Harvard University and regularly appears on national television news programs as a political commentator.
  • Charles W. Shivery is the Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer of Northeast Utilities (NU), New England’s largest utility system, serving over 2 million electric and natural gas customers in Connecticut, Massachusetts, and New Hampshire.  Prior to joining NU in 2002, Shivery held numerous senior management positions with the Constellation Energy Group, most recently serving as co-president.  Shivery first joined Constellation in 1972, after serving in the U.S. Navy for four years.  Shivery is also active in the community, serving as a director of The Bushnell Center for the Performing Arts, the Connecticut Science Center, the Connecticut Children’s Medical Center, and the MetroHartford Alliance.

The New England Council’s 2010 Annual Dinner will be held on Monday, October 18, 2010, at the Seaport Hotel/World Trade Center in Boston.  The reception will begin at 4:30 p.m., followed by a dinner program and award presentation beginning at 6:00 p.m.  This year’s Annual Dinner is being chaired by New England Council board member Marcy L. Reed, Senior Vice President of Public Affairs at National Grid.

Recently from the Blog

NEC Announces COVID In-Person Event Policy; Plans Return to In-Person Programming in 2022

12/17/2021 | Read Post

NEC Partnership with internX to Expand Internship Opportunities for Minority Students

01/4/2022 | Read Post

In the News

NEC to Honor Historic All-Female Lineup of 2021 New Englanders of the Year

08/2/2021 | Read Press Release

NEC Board Elects Three New Directors

04/27/2021 | Read Press Release