Announcing the Boston Business Journal Power 50
As originally appearing in The Boston Business Journal

By Boston Business Journal Staff

BBJ Power 50The power players in Boston are the ones getting things done and leading change in the Boston economy. With that in mind, we welcome you to our third annual Boston Business Journal Power 50. This is a list designed to inform, illuminate, confirm, and invariably generate controversy.

We drew from some 100 outside nominations and our own institutional knowledge, knowing that, in some cases, some readers would be scratching their heads, saying, “Who’s that?” For everyone has their own power meter — with gauges often set by one’s industry and position.

The list forms the basis for a special print supplement in November, as well as our annual Power 50 cocktail party on Nov. 6 at the Boston Harbor Hotel.

Here are this year’s Power 50:

• Jonathan Bush, CEO, athenahealth Inc.

• Jeff Fagnan, Partner, Atlas Venture

• Kerry Healey, President, Babson College

• Anne M. Finucane, Global Strategy & Marketing Officer, Bank of America Corp.

• Dave Porter, Managing Partner, Baystate Financial

• Andrew Dreyfus, President & CEO, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

• Jim Koch, Brewer and Founder, The Boston Beer Co.

• Wycliffe “Wyc” K. Grousbeck, Managing Partner, Governor and CEO, Boston Celtics

• Kate Walsh, CEO, Boston Medical Center

• Douglas T. Linde, President, Boston Properties

• John Henry, Principal Owner, Boston Red Sox (and soon, the Boston Globe)

• Tim Rowe, founder and CEO, Cambridge Innovation Center

• Josiah “Joe” Spaulding, CEO, Citi Performing Arts Center

• Diane Hessan, President and CEO, Communispace

• Gail Goodman, CEO, Constant Contact

• Michael W. Bonney, CEO, Cubist Pharmaceuticals Inc.

• Bill Cummings, Founder, Cummings Properties/Cummings Foundation

• William K. Bacic, New England Managing Partner, Deloitte & Touche

• Barbara Goose, President, DigitasLBi, Boston, Detroit offices

• Joseph Tucci, President & CEO, EMC Corp

• Timothy G. Healy, Chairman, CEO co-founder, EnerNoc

• Abigail Johnson, President, Fidelity Investments

• Regina M. Pisa, Chairman, Goodwin Procter

• Paul H. Guzzi, President & CEO, Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce

• Eric H. Schultz, President & CEO, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care

• Drew Gilpin Faust, President, Harvard University

• Karen Kaplan, President & CEO, Hill Holliday

• Adelene Q. Perkins, President and CEO, Infinity Pharmaceuticals Inc.

• David H. Long, CEO, Liberty Mutual

• John E. Rosenthal, President, Meredith Management Corp.

• R. Robert Popeo, Chairman, Mintz Levin Cohn Ferris Glovsky and Popeo

• Malcolm Rogers, Director, Museum of Fine Arts

• John T. Hailer, President and CEO, Asia and the Americas, Natixis Global Asset Management

• James (Jim) S. Davis, Chairman, New Balance

• Stephen R. Karp, Chairman and CEO, New England Development

• Thomas J. May, President & CEO, Northeast Utilities

• Therese Murray, President, Massachusetts Senate

• William H. Swanson, Chairman and CEO, Raytheon Co.

• Ronald L. Sargent, Chairman and CEO, Staples Inc.

• Jay Hooley, CEO, State Street

• John F. Fish, Chairman and CEO, Suffolk Construction

• Robert K. Kraft , Chairman and CEO, The Kraft Group

• James T. Brett, President & CEO , The New England Council

• Carol Meyrowitz, CEO, TJX Companies

• Carmen M. Ortiz, U.S. Attorney, District of Massachusetts

• Robert L. Caret, President, University of Massachusetts

• J. Keith Motley, Chancellor, University of Massachusetts Boston

• Dr. Jeffrey M. Leiden, President & CEO, Vertex Pharmaceuticals Inc.

• Jon Abbott, President & CEO, WGBH

• William Lee, partner, WilmerHale

Recently from the Blog

Commonwealth Care Alliance Donates to RI Nonprofits

10/14/2021 | Read Post

Cambridge Trust Commits $110M to Affordable Housing Construction

10/12/2021 | Read Post

In the News

NEC to Honor Historic All-Female Lineup of 2021 New Englanders of the Year

08/2/2021 | Read Press Release

NEC Board Elects Three New Directors

04/27/2021 | Read Press Release