New Englander of the Year Award Recipients

The highlight of each year’s Annual Dinner is the presentation of the prestigious “New Englander of the Year” awards.  First presented over 50 years ago, the award honors residents of the New England states for their commitment and contributions in their fields of work, as well as their leadership and impact on the New England region’s quality of life and economy.  Over the years, the Council has honored leaders from both the public and private sectors, including U.S. Senators and Representatives, Governors, cabinet secretaries, college presidents, non-profit executives, and CEOs of some of the region’s most respected and successful businesses.

Past Honorees:

2020 – Udit Batra, President & CEO of Waters Corporation; Marianne Harrison, President & CEO of John Hancock; Dr. Ibram X. Kendi, Founder & Director of the Boston University Center for Antiracist Research; U.S. Representative James McGovern; former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Samantha Power;  MilliporeSigma

2019 – Margaret Brennan, Senior Foreign Affairs Correspondent, CBS News and Moderator of “Face the Nation;” Roger W. Crandall, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, MassMutual; The Honorable Maggie Hassan, United States Senator, New Hampshire; Jerry Remy, Red Sox Color Analyst, NESN; Former Second Baseman, MLB

2018 – General Joseph F. Dunford Jr., Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff; Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D., Chairman, President and CEO, Vertex Pharmaceuticals; Staff Sergeant (ret) Travis Mills, Army Veteran and Founder, Travis Mills Foundation; The Honorable Niki Tsongas, U.S. House of Representatives

2017 – The Honorable Charles D. Baker, Governor, The Commonwealth of Massachusetts; Collette Divitto, Founder, Collettey’s Cookies; Joseph L. Hooley, Chairman and CEO, State Street Corporation; Navyn Salem, Founder and CEO, Edesia

2016 – R. Nicholas Burns, Ambassador (Ret.), Goodman Family Professor of the Practice of Diplomacy and International Relations, Harvard Kennedy School; Abbey D’Agostino, U.S. Olympic Track & Field Team; Jeffrey R. Immelt, Chairman and CEO, GE; The Honorable Gina M. Raimondo, Governor, The State of Rhode Island

2015 – Karen Kaplan, Chairman and CEO of Hill Holliday; U.S. Secretary of Energy Ernest Moniz; Medal of Honor Recipient Ryan M. Pitts; and longtime WBZ-TV anchor Jack Williams

2014 – Peter Frates, ALS Research Advocate and Inspiration for the “Ice Bucket Challenge” Fundraising Campaign; Dr. Gary L. Gottlieb, President and CEO, Partners HealthCare; Alan S. McKim, Founder and CEO, Clean Harbors, Inc.; George Stephanopoulos, ABC News Chief Anchor

2013 – U.S. Senator Kelly Ayotte, New Hampshire; Kenneth R. Feinberg, Managing Partner, Feinberg Rozen, LLP Administrator of The One Fund Boston; Robert L. Reynolds,President and Chief Executive Officer, Putnam Investments; George Wein, Chairman, Newport Festivals Foundation, Inc. Lifetime Achievement Award: The Honorable Thomas M. Menino, Mayor, City of Boston

2012 – Abigail P. Johnson, President, Fidelity Financial Services, U.S. Representative John Larson, Connecticut; David McCullough, Pulitzer Prize Winning Author; Robert K. Sheridan, President & CEO, Savings Bank Life Insurance

2011 – U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen, New Hampshire; Donald Rodman, Rodman Auto Group & The Rodman Ride for Kids; Brian Moynihan, Bank of America; The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library & Museum

2010 – U.S. Senator Susan Collins, Maine; Doris Kearns Goodwin, Pulitzer Prize-winning author and historian; Charles Shivery, Northeast Utilities

2009 – Jack Connors, Hill, Holiday, Connors and Cosmopulos; John Fish, Suffolk Construction, U.S. Senator John F. Kerry, Massachusetts

2008 – Fr. J. Donald Monan, Boston College; U.S. Representative Richard Neal, Massachusetts; Thomas M. Ryan, CVS/Caremark

2007 – U.S. Representative Barney Frank; Peter Meade, Blue Cross Blue Shield Massachusetts; and James Wright, Dartmouth College

2006 – U.S. Secretary of Energy Samuel Bodman; Ken Burns, Emmy Award-winning filmmaker; Anne Finucane, Bank of America;

2005 – Larry Lucchino and The Boston Red Sox; U.S. Senator Jack Reed; Joseph Tucci, EMC Corporation

2004 – Lawrence Fish, Citizens Bank; Robert Kraft and The New England Patriots; U.S. Representative Edward Markey, Massachusetts

2003 – U. S. Senator Christopher Dodd, Connecticut; Edmund Kelly, The Liberty Mutual Group; The New Hampshire Political Library

2002 – Andrew Card, White House Chief of Staff; Cathy E. Minehan, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston; Michael G. Morris, Northeast Utilities

2001 – U.S. Senator Judd Gregg, New Hampshire; Marian Heard, United Way of Massachusetts Bay; Thomas May, NSTAR

2000 – U.S. Secretary of Defense William Cohen; William Van Faasen, Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Massachusetts

1999 – William Bulger, University of Massachusetts; Marshall Carter, State Street Corporation; U.S. Senator John Chafee, Rhode Island

1998 – Gary Countryman, Liberty Mutual; Evan Dobelle, Trinity College; U.S. Senator Edward Kennedy, Massachusetts

1997 – Orit Gadiesh, Bain & Co.; Dennis Picard, Raytheon; Governor William Weld, Massachusetts;

1996 – Al Zeien, Gillette; U. S. Secretary of the Air Force Sheila Widnall

1995 – George Hatsopoulos, Thermo Electron; John LaWare, Federal Reserve Bank

1994 – William Ellis, Northeast Utilities; U.S. Representative Joseph Moakley, Massachusetts

1993 – Wayne Budd, former Associate Attorney General; Ira Stepanian, Bank of Boston

1992 – U.S. Senator Warren Rudman, New Hampshire; Jack Welch, General Electric Company

1991 – U.S. Representative Silvio O. Conte; Paul O’Brien, New England Telephone

1990 – U.S. Senator George Mitchell, Maine; Terrence Murray, Fleet/Norstar

1989 – John H. Sununu, White House Chief of Staff

1988 – Thomas L. Phillips, Raytheon

1987 – Edward C. Johnson, III, Fidelity

1986 – U.S. Representative and Speaker of the HouseThomas P. O’Neill, Jr., Massachusetts

1985 – Joseph R. Carter, Wyman-Gordon Company

1984 – Red Auerbach, Boston Celtics

1983 – Guy W. Nichols, New England Electric System

1982 – Richard D. Hill, First National Bank of Boston

1981 – Bernard J. O’Keefe, EG&G, Inc.

1980 – Dr. An Wang, Wang Laboratories

1979 – U.S. Secretary of the Treasury G. William Miller,

1978 – Governor James B. Longley, Maine

1977 – Kenneth H. Olsen, Digital Equipment Corporation

1976 – General Electric Company

1974 – Bradford Washburn, Museum of Science

1973 – Governor Deane C. Davis, Vermont

1972 – Dr. Charles F. Phillips, Bates College

1971 – Albert A. Cree, VT Yankee Nuclear Power Corporation

1970 – Charles J. Zimmerman, CT Mutual Life Insurance Company

1969 – Dr. James K. Killian, Jr., M.I.T.

1968 – Carl J. Gilbert, The Gillette Company

1967 – Erwin D. Canham, Christian Science Monitor

1966 – Frazar B. Wilde, CT General Life Insurance

1965 – Robert Chapman Sprague, Sprague Electric Company

1964 – Dr. Edwin H. Land, Polaroid Corporation

Recently from the Blog

Vertex Releases Findings in Type 1 Diabetes Trial

11/9/2021 | Read Post

Amazon will be Hiring 1,500 Seasonal Workers

11/9/2021 | Read Post

In the News

NEC to Honor Historic All-Female Lineup of 2021 New Englanders of the Year

08/2/2021 | Read Press Release

NEC Board Elects Three New Directors

04/27/2021 | Read Press Release