NEC Supports Renomination of FERC Commissioner

In June 2014, FERC (Federal Energy Regulatory Commission) Acting Chairman Cheryl LaFleur’s term as a FERC Commissioner expires. Acting Chairman LaFleur was first appointed by President Barack Obama in 2010, and confirmed by the Senate in July of that year. A Massachusetts native, she is currently the lone FERC Commissioner who hails from east of the Mississippi River, and therefore the only member of the panel with a deep understanding of the New England region’s unique energy challenges.  Prior to joining FERC, Acting Chairman LaFleur had more than 20 years’ experience as a leader in the electric and natural gas industry. She served as executive vice president and acting CEO of National Grid USA, responsible for the delivery of electricity to 3.4 million customers in the Northeast.

The New England Council wrote to President Obama in April 2014 urging him to re-nominate Acting Chairman LaFleur to the panel for a second year term as Commissioner. In its letter, the Council stressed her extensive experience in the energy industry in New England and her record of support for policies and regulation that promote economic growth in the region.

In addition to The New England Council, many member of the New England Congressional delegation also expressed their support for Commissioner LaFleur’s re-nomination. Led by Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), seven New England Senators signed on to a March 2014 letter to the President.  And in April 2014, a group of 13 New England House members, led by Congressman Joe Kennedy (D-MA), wrote to the President supporting LaFleur’s renomination.

Recently from the Blog

Vertex Releases Findings in Type 1 Diabetes Trial

11/9/2021 | Read Post

Amazon will be Hiring 1,500 Seasonal Workers

11/9/2021 | Read Post

In the News

NEC to Honor Historic All-Female Lineup of 2021 New Englanders of the Year

08/2/2021 | Read Press Release

NEC Board Elects Three New Directors

04/27/2021 | Read Press Release