Annual Dinner

Held each fall in Boston, the Annual Dinner brings together business, non-profit, and academic leaders from throughout New England to celebrate the New England Council’s accomplishments, and to honor those who have made significant contributions to the region with the New Englander of the Year Award.

SAVE THE DATE! 2015 Annual Dinner

2015 Annual Dinner STD

Mark your calendars!  The 2015 New England Council Annual Dinner will be held on the evening of Thursday, October 22, 2015.  Join us as we celebrate our 90th Anniversary and honor our 2015 New Englanders of the Year.  The Annual Dinner will be held at the Seaport Hotel/World Trade Center in Boston.  For more information on sponsorship or tickets, please contact Larry Zabar at or (617) 723-4009.

2014 Annual Dinner

2014 Honorees

The New England Council 2014 Annual Dinner was held on the evening of Thursday, October 9, 2014, at the Seaport Hotel/World Trade Center in Boston, MA.  It was the largest Annual Dinner in the Council’s history, with over 1,700 guests in attendance as we honored our 2014 New Englanders of the Year:

Gary L. Gottlieb, M.D. – President and CEO, Partners HealthCare
Gary L. Gottlieb, M.D., M.B.A., is the President and CEO of Partners HealthCare, an integrated health system founded by Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Massachusetts General Hospital. Partners HealthCare, one of the largest employers in New England, also includes community and specialty hospitals, a managed care organization, community health centers, a physician network, home health and long-term care services, and other health-related entities as well as one of the world’s largest academic biomedical research enterprises. Dr. Gottlieb, a Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, has treated patients, conducted cutting-edge medical research, and served in a variety of leadership posts at some of the nation’s top hospitals, including President of Brigham and Women’s Hospital. A recognized community leader in the region, Dr. Gottlieb also focuses his attention on workforce development and disparities in health care. He is a graduate of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Albany Medical College of Union University and the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.

Alan S. McKim – Founder and CEO, Clean Harbors, Inc.
Alan S. McKim founded Clean Harbors in 1980, and today serves as its Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board. Under McKim’s leadership, Norwell, MA-based Clean Harbors has grown from a four-person tank cleaning business to the leading environmental, energy and industrial service provider in North America, with revenues over $3.5 billion in 2013. Clean Harbors has led clean-up efforts following natural disasters, such as hurricanes and tornadoes, as well as environmental incidents, including the massive oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico in 2010. Clean Harbors also provides leading edge technologies and services to prevent the release of contaminants to the environment and its wide range of sustainability and recycling capabilities include the world’s largest oil re-refining facility. McKim serves as a Trustee of Northeastern University, where the University’s D’Amore-McKim School of Business was named in honor of Mr. McKim and a fellow classmate in recognition of their significant business achievements and substantial contributions to the university. He holds an MBA from Northeastern University and an Honorary Doctorate from the Massachusetts Maritime Academy.

George Stephanopoulos – Chief Anchor, ABC News

George Stephanopoulos was named Chief Anchor of ABC News in June 2014, leading the network’s coverage of special events and breaking news. The Fall River, MA, native currently serves as the anchor of ABC’s “This Week with George Stephanopoulos”, and as the anchor of “Good Morning America”, which he has helped propel to the number one spot in the competitive national morning news market. Prior to joining ABC News in 1997, Stephanopoulos served as a senior adviser to President Bill Clinton. He is also the author of the New York Times number one best seller, “All Too Human”. Stephanopoulos is a graduate of Columbia University and Oxford University, where he was a Rhodes Scholar.


About the New Englander of the Year Awards

The highlight of each year’s Annual Dinner is the presentation of the prestigious “New Englander of the Year” awards.  First presented over 40 years ago, the award is meant to honors residents of the New England states for their commitment and contributions in their fields of work, as well as their leadership and impact on the New England region’s quality of life and economy.  Over the years, has honored leaders from both the public and private sectors, including U.S. Senators and Representatives, Governors, cabinet secretaries, college presidents, non-profit executives, and CEOs of some of the region’s most respected and successful businesses.

View past New Englander of the Year Award recipients

Recently from the Blog

AutoFair Opens New Volkswagen Dealership

06/25/2015 | Read Post

FairPoint Communications Opens New Data Center

06/25/2015 | Read Post

In the News

NEC Joins with Top Business Groups in Urging Congress to Pass TPA

06/10/2015 | Read Press Release

Jim Brett Named to Federal & State Disabilities Advocacy Posts

05/12/2015 | Read Press Release